//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

After the big swim…

Image

I swam the 5 km on 27 April in two hours and seventeen minutes. It was satisfying to finish, I didn’t really mind about the time! And I raised £500 for Marie Curie Cancer Care. Job well done.

To be honest, I didn’t much enjoy the first 150 lengths because there were too many swimmers hacking up and down doing fast crawl in the shared lane where I plodded my breast stroke. They kept tapping my heels (the sign for ‘Please let me past at the end of the next length’) and I felt as though I was holding them up, which was a bit stressful. Then of course they all finished in about an hour and a half, so my last 50+ lengths were much more peaceful. There’s a moral in that, isn’t there? Something about tortoises and hares? I am definitely a tortoise.

Now I’m back to swimming at my usual more gentle pace, with my own thoughts and reflections, and just fifty lengths or so each session, three times a week.

Thanks again to all who sponsored me. I held you in my thoughts as I swam my 5 km.

Here is my medal. The first I have won for any sporting endeavour since I was champion egg-and-spooner aged seven!Image

About Clare Best

I am Clare Best – poet, writer, teacher of creative writing. My first career was as a fine bookbinder. I've also worked as a bookseller, and for many years as an editor. Poetry publications: Treasure Ground (HappenStance 2009), Excisions (Waterloo Press 2011), Breastless (Pighog Press 2011), CELL (Frogmore Press 2015), Springlines (Little Toller 2017)

Discussion

3 thoughts on “After the big swim…

  1. You are a total star xx

    Posted by mariajastrzebska | May 14, 2013, 4:21 pm
  2. Wow – Congratualations! 5 miles, that’s so far!

    Posted by Facing Cancer Together | May 18, 2013, 3:35 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Older posts

Clare on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

